Pregnancy Announcement!

Merry Christmas to the Bryan Family! As of December 25, Josh and I are becoming three! It’s an incredibly exciting time for us, and I look forward to posting updates for the next 8+ months. At the time of me writing this, I’m around 4 weeks and we have our first OB appointment for tomorrow. This is a draft so I’ll probably update from how that goes.

I’d like to give updates of both my physical and emotional symptoms, so here goes!

Physical Symptoms:

I have some fairly annoying lower back pain, and that sometimes radiates into my legs, especially my left leg. I’ve also had some mild cramping (sort of like I’m about to start my period). Again, a little uncomfortable, but I’ve read that it’s good to have some cramping, so I’m not complaining too much!

I’ve also been pretty tired, but that could be due more to coughing all night from a cold than being pregnant, so time will tell on that I guess! I had a little bit of trouble finding a cough suppressant that’s safe for the first trimester, but a pharmacist recommended something, so hopefully I’ll sleep through the night tonight.

I haven’t had any morning sickness, but my tummy has been feeling slightly on edge today, so that may or may not get worse.

Emotional Symptoms:

There’s a lot going through me and Josh’s heads right now. It’s so early in the pregnancy, so we’re very nervous about miscarriage. I’m a hyper researcher, and I’ve pretty effectively spooked myself and have several times been convinced that something is wrong. Josh is really great about calming me down and helping me think more logically. When we decided that we wanted to start trying, I also decided to wean back off of my Paxil, as I’ve read that most SSRIs are pretty risky for pregnancy. I’ve actually been really good emotionally, so that hasn’t been much of an issue.

We’re both really looking forward to the OB appointment tomorrow so that we can know that everything is going well. We’re excited and nervous, and very hopeful! I downloaded a pregnancy app that tells you about what size your baby is, and right now Baby Bryan is around the size of a poppy seed (WOW). I’ve been calling her Poppy in my head, which makes it feel even more real! I also don’t know why she’s a girl in my head, but that’s the gender my brain chose.

So here we go! What a way to bring in 2016.

Leave a Reply

