Pregnancy Update: Weeks 15, 16, and 17

Sooooo…I got behind, obviously. Whoops! There’s a lot to say, so I’ll just dive right in.

Physical Symptoms:

I’m reasonably confident in saying that the morning sickness is down to threat level zero. In fact, the other day Josh and I went to Bar-H because I wanted to. Granted, I got chicken instead of pork but I ate almost all of the chicken plus all the sides without feeling like crap, so, SCORE. The only thing in regard to food that I’m finding is that I definitely can’t eat as much at one time as I used to, but very little makes me feel green.

As far as my energy level, it’s definitely back up but it’s certainly not 100%. I read a lot that the second trimester is the honeymoon of pregnancy, and so far that proving to be about half true. I definitely feel better than I did the first trimester, but I don’t feel completely like myself (as in, myself before I got pregnant). I definitely feel able to successfully complete all of my school work without feeling exhausted, and I have a little energy left over at the end of the day to be a reasonably nice person. So, energy level is about 60/100, I would say.

I’m slowly but surely growing a bump! I’m definitely starting to notice, and other people are noticing as well, which is super exciting! That being said, my growing torso is starting to add some strain on my hips and lower back. I’ve definitely woken up quite a few mornings where my hips felt like they were on fire. It always gets better when I get up and moving around, so hopefully that continues!

 

Emotional Symtoms

I think the theme over the last few weeks for me has been “overwhelmed.” My anxiety levels have gotten easier to manage, but that doesn’t mean that I don’t still struggle with anxiety. That’s something I forget sometimes. I’ll have a couple of really good days in a row, and it makes me forget that I still have Generalized Anxiety. Mostly I have good days, but some days I have a really, really bad day. Honestly, today is one of those days. I feel slightly crippled by how overwhelmed I feel; I just can’t imagine how Josh and I are going to handle having a kid. Like, realistically I know we’re going to be okay, but sometimes I get really freaked out by the fact that I definitely do not feel like I have my life together, and now I’m going to be a mother.

However, if I waited until I felt 100% ready to be a parent, I would never have a kid. So, every so often I have a day where I just feel off, I cry a lot, and I generally feel like crap, but I bounce back the next day. And I’m okay, I’m definitely managing. It’s just part of having an unmedicated anxiety disorder for me. All in all I’m very happy and mostly consumed with excitement about our little person.

 

Leave a Reply

