Pregnancy: Week 20

IMG_1787

Well hello there halfway point! You came quickly.

Physical Symptoms

So, the only real symptom I’ve had seems to be a combination of heartburn/indigestion/maybe a little bit of reflux? I’ve never had heartburn or reflux before so it’s hard to say if that’s really what it is. I’ve had sort of random nausea that pops up out of nowhere, lasts for a couple of hours, then goes away. But nausea isn’t really the right word for it, it’s more like I feel like my tummy is really acidic. I’m sure that doesn’t make sense. Josh and I were wondering if it may be a reaction to the amount of dairy I’ve been eating. Pre-pregnancy my diet consisted of basically no dairy, besides the occasional greek yogurt. I don’t even really like ice cream. But, I’ve been trying to get more calcium, and I wonder if it’s upsetting my stomach a little bit. I’m planning on cutting the dairy out of my diet (and getting a calcium supplement instead), so I’ll update on how that goes.

Oh yeah, another symptom I’ve had is MAJOR pregnancy brain. The other day I was helping a friend write thank you cards, and we were just chatting as we wrote. After a minute I realized I’d put a blank card into an envelope and sealed it. The only reason I realized I’d done it is because I couldn’t remember what name to write on the card…because I hadn’t written anything. Stuff like that has been happening all. the. time. The other day I just…forgot my chemistry homework. It’s not that I willfully just didn’t do it, I literally just forgot it existed. It’s not a big deal because I’ve turned in every other assignment in that class, but just things like that get to be annoying after a while. It’ll definitely be less stressful when I’m out of school and don’t have to worry about remembering such a huge bulk of information.

Emotional Symptoms

I’ve been not bad lately. I’m feeling definite baby kicks now semi-regularly (Josh can’t feel them yet. Boo). Last night we went to see Sweeney Todd in Athens (which was awesome and everyone should go see it), and the baby kicked up a storm during “Green Finch and Linnet Bird,” and pretty much every other time Johanna sang. I don’t know if it was because it was so high and she could hear it better? I also noticed that she seemed to like Mrs. Lovett’s songs too, but she was pretty much still during all of the men’s songs. We were on the third row (wow) and sometimes the ensemble basically got in our faces (which was awesome and terrifying. A guy made eye contact with me and wouldn’t break it. I got so freaked out that broke the eye contact first. Intense) and because we were so close we could really hear the sopranos, and she seemed to like that.

So far she’s been to Once Upon a Mattress and Sweeney Todd and Sweeney was definitely her favorite. Maybe we have a girl who likes music! I mean, it wouldn’t be that much of a shocker but you know. It’s cool to guess.

As summer approaches I’m looking forward to having time to nest. I’m already feeling kind of “nesty;” I’ve been cleaning and de-cluttering like a mad man. I’m really looking forward to working on the nursery and getting everything ready for sweet baby! I’m also planning on starting the Wheel of Time series because I’ll have the time to do it over the summer, so I’m pretty stoked about that.

So yeah, things are good, and in the immortal words of Bon Jovi:

BONJOVI

Leave a Reply

