Pregnancy Update: Weeks 24 and 25

Ahhhhh y’all I know I forgot last week and I’m sorry!

Physical Symptoms:

Well, this week and last week have been fairly un-spectacular as far as symptoms. I would say I definitely haven’t had anything new, just a continuation of things that I’ve already been having. I will say, I have been noticing that I definitely don’t have as much hip pain, and when I was talking to my mom about it, she’s wondering if the fact that I’m not traipsing all over campus lugging my backpack around every day has given my hips a nice break. I would say that’s a definite possibility, as my overall comfort level has definitely increased since summer started.

I haven’t really noticed any more heartburn/reflux, so hopefully it won’t make a comeback. I do limit my diet in terms of spicy food more than I ever have, so that might also have something to do with it. Hmmm. What else…I’m finding it harder and harder to actually fall asleep in the evenings. And then once I fall asleep, I either wake up all the time because I have to pee, or I need to change positions because something or other got stiff. But, now I also wake up super early, so that kind of sucks. The good news is that my day these days pretty much consists of either reading Harry Potter, or watching Fixer Upper, so it’s not like I need a ton of energy. And if I do get tired…I pretty much take a nap. My mom was such a trooper and tried a prenatal yoga video with me. It was actually pretty fun! The lady only said “chakra” once, and the rest of it was actually really nice and relaxing. I feel stretched out and peaceful. Would recommend. Life is good.

Emotional Symptoms

Well,  I was so successful after three weeks in therapy that we didn’t schedule any more appointments. She said if I started feeling like I needed to come in, I could schedule appointments as needed, but honestly, I haven’t felt like I needed to. We dealt with all of the big stuff really quickly, and then she mostly helped me find coping strategies for anxiety that worked for me so that I would be able to get through an anxious episode without letting is escalate too much. For the most part, all of these things have worked. I’ve also found myself much more willing to communicate what I’m feeling in the moment, especially to Josh. Most of the time it’s so silly and irrational, and after I say it out loud I realize that it’s silly and I get over it really quickly. So, success with that!

I’m trying very, very hard to soak in all of these days I have at home by myself. It’s nice to do whatever I want, and to have some me-time. I know that this will be a lot harder to come by after the baby comes, so, for the most part, I’m really enjoying it. Some days here lately I’ve gotten a little stir-crazy and felt like I HAD to get out of the house, but the unfortunate thing about living where we live is that getting out of the house pretty much means going to the grocery store…or the gas station. And I do those things. Some days I try to side outside the sun and read, but it’s been SO stinkin’ hot that it’s starting to get uncomfortable. The other unfortunate thing is that the CDC recommends that pregnant women don’t go outside at dawn or dusk because that’s when mosquitos are most active (I’m not taking any chances with Zika), so when it finally starts to cool down outside, I can’t really go out. But it’s okay. I’m finding ways to fill my time.

A couple people have mentioned that I stopped posting belly photos, and I stopped because I felt like it was kind of weird, but if people want belly pictures again, I’ll do my best to oblige! Another reason is that I just flat-out forget to do them, pretty much like I forget to write the blog in the first place! I’m going to have to start setting a weekly alarm to remind myself because pregnancy brain is REAL.

Screen Shot 2016-05-26 at 10.40.56 PM.png

That shirt was definitely too small but I HAD to wear it to commemorate another Ekklesia show.

See you guys next week!

 

Leave a Reply

