Pregnancy: Week 29

I seriously can’t believe there are only 11 weeks left. We’re almost there!!

Physical Symptoms

This section is getting boring to write, and probably boring for people to read, too! It’s honestly the same ‘ol stuff it’s been for a while. The only time I really experience hip pain is if I’ve been laying on my side for a long time, and then after I get up and moving it goes away after a minute. A weird thing that’s started happening is that the balls of my feet are killing me. This one kind of took me by surprise. I can’t fathom why my feet hurt like that. There appears to me no correlation with how much I walk around or stand–they hurt the same every day. I guess it’s one of those weird things!

As far as cravings and food are concerned, peach tea is still the name of the game for me. I can’t get enough of it (although I very strictly adhere to my one glass a day limit). Also, lately, pretzels dipped in Nutella has been sounding kind of good, but I wouldn’t necessarily classify that as a weird craving, so much as a resurrection of something I used to eat in college far too often. I’ve also noticed that I’m pretty much ravenous all the time. Seriously, I eat something and then half and hour later I could eat another full meal. I’ve heard a lot of people say that by the time the pregnancy is this far along you can’t eat as much at one time. This…has not yet proven to be true! I try to satiate my hunger with semi-healthy things like fruit (Josh and I are keeping the grape and watermelon industries in business), and my weight gain is right where it should be, so I’m not worried about it too much. I mostly just think it’s funny!

Emotional Symptoms

Man, we finally had an uneventful week. We got to celebrate Josh’s first Father’s Day which was really sweet, and I had my first appointment with the new doctor, and oh. my. gosh. He was SO wonderful. He probably had the most tranquil doctor’s office I’ve ever been in, and I fell in love with his nurses, and he was just so thorough and kind, and the whole office mentioned to me several times how sorry they were that my other doctor was closing her practice so suddenly. They all said how happy they were that I was there and that they were able to take me, and even though Josh and I were really rattled by the other office closing, we both think that it’s going to end up being even better with this new doctor. We’re both also very excited about being able to deliver at ARMC. We have a tour on the 9th, and I have two friends who recently gave birth there and had wonderful experiences, so I think it’s going to be really good!

Because of our emergency room scare, Josh thought it would be a good idea if I went ahead and packed a bag for the hospital, and I thought that was wise, so I’ve started packing, officially! I don’t have half the stuff I need yet (like nursing-friendly nightgowns, that kind of stuff), but it was exciting just to begin the process! I also packed a little bag for baby. I think I might have overdone it a little bit for her, but I’d rather have more than I need than not enough. The other rules Josh suggested were that my phone isn’t allowed to get under 50% battery (I’m notorious for letting my phone die at like, 4 PM and not charging it until that night), and my car has to have half a tank of gas in it at all times (I’m also notorious for riding around on empty until I absolutely have to get gas). I think these are good rules, because honestly, the due date is getting so close and it’s good to start preparing.

The actual, true reality of what’s about to happen has started to hit me. I was laying in bed last night about to drift off, and really looking forward to a long, uninterrupted night of sleep, and all of a sudden it was like, man, in like two and half months I’m not going to have uninterrupted sleep for a long time! In two and a half months, I’m not going to be by myself for a really, really long time. Time is passing so quickly and between being in the middle of buying a house, and Josh starting grad school, and working a camp, and all of these other huge things happening, I hadn’t really sat down and thought about how close it was to being here, how close our daughter is to being here. It’s so weird and hard to imagine for me right now, but I know in a little while it’s going to be hard to imagine our lives without her. I’m stuck right between pure excitement and sheer terror, which, I think, is a healthy place to be in.

For the record, I am NOT a fan of this week’s baby sizer. This movie scared the ever-living CRAP out of me when I was a kid. We had to throw my Furbies away.

Screen Shot 2016-06-22 at 6.41.40 PM

Leave a Reply

