Pregnancy: Week 35

IMG_2013

Physical Symptoms

Pretty much same ol’, same ol’ in this department. I’ve still been experiencing the symptoms of carpal tunnel in both hands, but definitely worse in my right hand. It’s at its worst at night, so I try to make sure I wear my splint when I sleep. The splint, surprisingly, really helps. When I wear it I don’t experience any pain or numbness, so that’s a good thing. The only thing I’m concerned about is that I may have to get a second splint for my left hand, because I’m starting to experience some of the same things in my left hand as my right, especially at night.

That being said, a lot of my swelling has gone down. For a few days my feet were really, really swollen and so were my hands, but now that I’m not on my feet all day moving boxes and painting, and also remembering to eat regularly and drink plenty of water, it’s improved a lot, so that’s a good thing! Other than that, I’m feeling pretty good. Mostly tired and I’m starting to get to the point where I definitely feel a little over pregnancy, and I’m ready to have this baby. I’m a little tired of being hot all the time and having to waddle when I walk, and as a lot of people have told me, the final stretch is definitely the hardest. The small amount of time I have left feels very, very long.

Emotional Symptoms

I’ve been having first trimester mood swings all over again. I know this is incredibly common, but it feels like the smallest thing can set me off these days. And sometimes, there is absolutely no reason at all for my sudden shift in mood. Like, a cloud can move the wrong way and it’ll annoy me. Some days, actually, most days, I feel absolutely fine and in a good mood, but then other days it’s just not happening. I know that that doesn’t go away immediately after having the baby either, but I am looking forward to eventually being able to restart my anxiety medication and feeling like I have more control over myself.

Unless I’m much mistaken, I believe we’re having another ultrasound at the next appointment to check baby’s position. I’m about 99% sure that she’s in exactly the same place she has been this whole pregnancy: wedged into my right side. She seems very content there, and I just want to say, if she’s still breech and we schedule a c-section, I am absolutely okay with it. I know for a lot of women out there, a vaginal birth is something they’ve always visualized themselves having, and it can be incredibly heart-breaking to end having have a c-section. More power to you guys. I totally respect being an advocate for the birth you’ve always wanted, and doing whatever you can to make sure you can accomplish that. For me, though, it’s just something that is not as important to me. I trust my doctor completely, and I don’t feel bullied by him at all. I asked him at our last appointment about doing an External Cephalic Version (ECV), which is where a physician will manually try to turn the baby on the outside. A lot of doctors aren’t comfortable with it, and after hearing him explain it, I understand why. He said it has to be done in the hospital because you have to be prepared to do an emergency c-section in case the baby goes into distress, gets stuck, or the process dislodges the placenta. In addition, the procedure can also be fairly painful. If he thinks it’s a good option for me I’ll consider it, but I’m truly not fussed about the idea of just scheduling a c-section. Honestly, I would much rather have a scheduled c-section than an emergency one, so I’ll do whatever my doctor recommends. I feel very taken care-of and listened-to by my doctor, so if a c-section is what ends up happening for me, that is totally fine. If the baby does turn and I have a vaginal birth, that is also totally fine. I’m just going with the flow.

Things are really good, all in all. We finished painting the nursery, and tomorrow Josh and I are going to put together the crib and start to get things set up, because TIME IS RUNNING OUT! I seriously can’t believe that there are only four weeks until my due date. I know I said earlier that it feels like things are kind of crawling by, but at the same time, it feels like it’s going so, so fast. Like, in a month or less a baby is going to be here. INSANITY.

Screen Shot 2016-08-04 at 4.22.34 PM

Leave a Reply

